There are three prizes associated with the Honors Research Symposium

The Heslet Scholar Award

This award, named after Mary Lou Heslet, a former Foothill College Honors Director and a founding member of the Honors Research Symposium team, is the grand prize of the Symposium. Every year finalists are selected by the Proposal Committee based on the promise of their abstracts. A team of community college Honors Faculty judges views the finalist presentations and selects the winner. CLICK HERE for the rubric used by the judges to assist the Heslet Scholar selection.

2019 Heslet Scholar: Bairui Liu, CaƱada College, Increasing Chelating Efficiency

The Katharine Award

This prize is named after Katharine Harer, a former Skyline College Honors Director and a Symposium founder. It commends one student whose abstract showed outstanding written flair and expressiveness. Finalists for this award are selected by the Proposal Committee, and Katharine chooses each year’s winner.

2019 Katharine Award Winner: Dronme Davis, American River College, Free at Last: Reclaiming the Legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

The Klaschus Honors Faculty of the Year Award

Named for Candy Klaschus, a former Las Positas College Honors Director and Symposium founder, this prize is given each year to an Honors Faculty member who has gone above and beyond in service to their school’s Honors Program.

2019 Klaschus Honors Faculty Award: John Heathcote, Reedley College